X
Live    Worship    Grow    Heal

Save the Date: Episcopal Church hosts major topical forum: Fifty Years Later: The State of Racism in America

[May 13, 2013] On November 15, the Episcopal Church will host and produce a forum centering on a critical topic for our times: Fifty Years Later: The State of Racism in America. Originating from St. Andrew’s Episcopal Cathedral in Jackson, MS (Diocese of  Mississippi), the 90-minute ecumenical forum will be live webcast beginning at 1 pm Central (2 pm Eastern, noon Mountain, 11 am Pacific, 10 am Alaska, 9 am Hawaii).

The forum will be moderated by well-known journalist and PBS commentator Ray Suarez. Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori will keynote the event. Two panel discussions will focus on main themes: Racism in America today – why does it persist?  And  Racism in America’s future – where is there hope for change?

“This offers Episcopalians and others an opportunity for continued truth-telling and reconciliation, as we seek a society of justice,” noted Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori, a keynote speaker for the event.  “We say we believe all human beings are made in the image of God.  Do we give evidence of it?”

This year marks significant landmark anniversaries in the struggle to end discrimination, provide equal rights and combat racism: the 150th anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation, the 50th anniversary of the pivotal March on Washington, the 50th anniversary of the assassination of Medger Evers, the 100th birthday of Rosa Parks.  In 1964 the Civil Rights Act was signed into law.

Panelists will be recognized leaders from faith groups, NGOs, the media, academia and government.  The forum will begin with a thought-provoking video, and viewers will be able to submit questions to the participants during the live webcast.

The forum is ideal for live group watching and discussion, or on-demand viewing later.  It will be appropriate for Sunday School, discussions groups, and community gatherings.

This event embodies with two recent General Convention resolutions: Resolution 2000 A-047 on Anti-Racism General Convention 2000:  Resolved, that the Episcopal Church continue its work to overcome the historic silence and complicity of our church in the sin of racism, that we become a church committed to ending institutional and other forms of racism, and that we overcome the historic silence and complicity of our church in the sin of racism; and Resolution A143 of General Convention 2009: to encourage dioceses to study slavery, segregation, and discrimination in their own communities.

The event also supports two Anglican Marks of Mission: in dealing with issues of racism a) To respond to human need by loving service (Mark 3), and b) To seek to transform unjust structures of society (Mark 4).

Resources
Resources such as bibliography, on-demand video, materials for community and individual review, discussion questions, and lesson plans will be available.

For more information contact Neva Rae Fox, Public Affairs Officer,publicaffairs@episcopalchurch.org.

 

Originally posted here by the Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs


by
Category: #Advocacy, #Communications

Respond to this:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Stories

St Luke’s Celebrates as a Parish
October 22, 2021

Bishop Susan Brown Snook visited the joyful congregation of St. Luke’s Episcopal Church in North Park on Sunday, October 17, 2021 to celebrate the church’s return to parish status in the Episcopal Diocese of San Diego.  The Revs. Laurel and Colin Mathewson’s leadership over the last five years has grown St. Luke’s into a bustling community. With […]

Migration Missive
September 17, 2021

This is the first in a series of regular updates from our Diocesan Migration Missioner, Troy Elder, who can be reached at telder@edsd.org.  For further information about the Migration (formerly Border) Missioner position, please visit https://edsd.org/news/edsd-to-add-new-border-missioner.   Missions, Fields, and Borders   Orthodoxy and history suggest that Protestant mission involves a Christian protagonist crossing an […]

New COVID-19 Policies for Diocesan Staff and Events
August 31, 2021

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, the Episcopal Diocese of San Diego has been committed to loving God and our neighbors through public health policies that help ensure healthy practices within our diocese. Now that the Pfizer vaccination has been fully approved by the FDA, EDSD’s Executive Council met on Saturday, August 28, 2021, and approved a […]

View All News
Receive the latest news.

© Episcopal Diocese of San Diego 2021. All Rights Reserved.